Claire, retired stockbroker in Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA, 2.17.12
First day shooting for the “Hard Times” project

What are you most excited about?
“At this stage in my life, not very much other than the fact that I do like to travel. Since I’ve lost my sight I enjoy books on tape.”

What is your greatest worry in life?
“My  great-grandmother, my grandmother and my mother  all had dementia or Alzheimer’s and that’s a tremendous apprehension that I suffer daily with. Dementia or Alzheimer’s is where you lose all memory. You have no memories. The early stages are asking questions and then two minutes later asking again. Repetition of asking the same question over and over again. If my memory serves me correctly, I remember that my mother once said to me ‘something’s not right. My head’s not right.’ I think she started to become aware of the lack of brain activity.”

