This past weekend marked my first public display of my photography (outside of Temple) at a craft show in Philadelphia. I am so grateful to everyone who came out to see my booth and helped out with supplies/setting up. You guys made me feel like a million dollar bills to be surrounded by such fabulous people and to get that kind of feedback, positive and constructive.

My mom and I enjoyed apricot and raspberry scones and coffee until the morning downpour ceased on Saturday. Most of the vendors made haste in vacating the premises, but we established ourselves as soon as the rain slowed to a drizzle (Q: Why does Snoop Dogg carry an umbrella? A: Fo drizzle). Can’t say I necessarily would have maintained that sort of optimism without my mama there for encouragement and scones and conversation, but we stuck it out. Of the 200 vendors, only 6 of us set up on Saturday.

Sunday could not have been more polar, like opposite, not the bear. So many people roamed the premises like farm animals disoriented, no longer confined by fences after a tornado. We were all animals for the World Cup game actually, one guy brought one of those buzzzzzzzzz horns, others chanted ole ole ole ole. Silliness, really, to identify oneself with either the Netherlands or Spain when ones own team failed to achieve such glory. Ahhh, social solidarity.

I managed to hand out all of my business cards throughout the weekend and made some valuable contacts. People were mostly interested in purchasing my 4×6 prints, although I did sell some large framed prints of Philadelphia and such. Some people even purchased my portraits, which I found to be surprising considering most people wouldn’t want to hang a picture of a stranger? When all was said and done, I was very pleased with the feedback I received both verbally and in sales. The remainder of my framed prints will be for sale at the Jolly Roger Motel gift shop and various other stores in Long Beach Island.

Again, thank you, thank you, thank you for joining me on this journey. I love you all.




