Emily & I are setting bottles to sea today with messages for the founders. Except my bottles will contain photographs & contact information so when I get discovered by the recipient I’ll have a really cool story to tell. Some may say we’re polluting, but I’m just sending some beauty back into the ocean.

My friends at Bowker’s Deli display a sign out front that reads “Don’t ruin my life by the sea, BP.” How many many circles of people will that message continue to resonate among as we approach day 62 of this environmental crisis. My sister Jocelyn refuses to take her girls to the beach in Florida, fumes and tarballs replacing livelihoods and cultures and summer. The surfers are still paddling out in Pensacola to savor the last few days when they will be able to emerge from the water without resembling the pelicans on CNN.

As I look out my window at the lightly undulating bay in New Jersey I can’t even fathom such a feeling. SPF protection from the sun, but who/what will protect us from the tainted sea and air? Louisiana lawmakers proposed a resolution for yesterday to be set aside as a day of prayer to prevent more oil from poisoning the Gulf, the creatures occupying it, and everywhere else (there are no gates between the oceans, as my mom said). “Thus far efforts made by mortals to try to solve the crisis have been to no avail,” said state Senator Robert Adley. “It is clearly time for a miracle for us.”

