I paid all the change in my wallet in order to take these photos on Market Street yesterday. This mini shoot was one of the best purchases I’ve ever made. Philadelphia characters could be an interesting theme for my blog if I was staying here for the summer and perhaps had infinite change to disperse and models who accept change. But I’m not & I don’t right now. So hopefully LBI will inspire me to create/capture beyond the beautiful scenes of bays and beaches and sunsets.

There is something to be said for this urban collection of contrast as it works my brain curious. The juxtaposition of high rises and abandoned houses, murals and graffiti, the briefcase faces who swallow back words unspoken and the out-there ones that scream absurdities all day like my neighbor Joshua. He’ll let you know what he’s thinking before he thinks it, efficiency of expression?

So, I’m packed up into bags and boxes again, a hierarchy of my possessions parceled into receptacles for three destinations: home, Philly, LBI. And today I will place the boxes destined for the latter of the three into my “Jee” (the p fell off) and mosey on down route 72 toward the summer. I have a lot of thoughts about all of this, but not a lot of perspective or reflections on them right now if that makes sense. So I will keep them to myself.

